fredag 3. mai 2013

Dol Ammad - Cosmic Gods: Episode I - Hyperspeed

Band: Dol Ammad
Album: Cosmic Gods: Episode I - Hyperspeed
Country: Greece

Release date: March 28, 2013
Genre: Sci-Fi Metal, Fusion
Existed since: 2000

Second up is Dol Ammad, who sounds like grand choiring meets future metal. There are lots of electronic elements in the music, like the opening of Noctis Labyrinthus that reminds me of the old records Amon Tobin used on his excellent Permutation.


Album musicians:
Greg Perialas - bass vocals
Anila Teli - soprano vocals
Melina Paschalidou - soprano vocals
Alex Barbas - tenor vocals
Asterios Tsetsilas - tenor vocals
Dimitra Athanasatou - alto vocals
Athanasia Thomopoulou - alto vocals
Thanasis Pavlou - bass vocals
Thanasis Lightbridge - synthesizers, drums
Themis Mpasdekis - tenor vocals
Kortessa Tsifodimou - soprano vocals
Kyriakos Chouvardas - bass vocals
Dimitris Makrantonakis - guitars, bass
Sofia Patsi - alto vocals

  1. Magus Invicta
  2. Noctis Labyrinthus
  3. Golden Phantasma
  4. Titan Warriors
  5. Xenocide
  6. Stargate Pyramid
  7. Omniversal God
  8. Hyperspeed
  9. Supernova
  10. Caravan Of Mars
  11. Seeds Of Life

Released records:
Star Tales, 2004
Ocean Dynamics, 2006
Winds Of The Sun (ep), 2010

Rotting Christ - Kata Ton Daimona Eaytoy

Band: Rotting Christ
Album: Kata Ton Daimona Eaytoy
Country: Greece

Release date: March 1, 2013
Label: Season Of Mist
Genre: Melodic Black Metal, Dark Folk Metal
Existed since: 1987


Thought i put out reviews by two greek bands today =)
First up is veterans Rotting Christ, whos last effort topped my 2010 list.  They are back with another quality record, filled w their own sound of dark folk, black metal. Their signature riffs shines through and the female voices sounds like witches swearing out their curses.

Highly Recommended.

Album musicians:
Sakis "Necromayhem" Tolis - vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards
Themis "Necrosauron" Tolis - drums

Guest musicians:
Giannis Stamatakis - choir
Theodoros Aivaliotis - choir
Alexandros Loutriotis - choir
Babis Alexandropoulos - choir
Androniki Skoula - choir
Eleni Vougioukli - vocals, piano
Suzana Vougioukli - vocals
Giorgis Nikas-Askavlos - gaida, tsampouna, blowing horn, blowing conch, ntaouli
George Emmanuil - guitar solo

  1. In Yumen - Xibalba
  2. P'unchaw kachun - Tuta kachun
  3. Grandis Spiritus Diavolos
  4. Κατά τον δαίμονα του εαυτού
  5. Cine iubeşte şi lasă
  6. Iwa Woodoo
  7. Gilgameš
  8. Русалка
  9. Ahura Mazdā-Aŋra Mainiuu
  10. Χξς'
  11. Welcome to Hel (bonus)

Released records:
Rotting Christ / Monumentum (spilt ep), 1991
Passage To Arcturo (ep), 1991
Dawn Of The Iconoclast (ep), 1992
Thy Mighty Contract, 1993
Αποκαθήλωσις (ep), 1993
Non Serviam, 1994
Satanas Tedeum (ep), 1994
Triarchy Of The Lost Lovers, 1996
A Dead Poem, 1997
The Mystical Meeting (ep), 1997
Sleep Of The Angels, 1999
Khronos, 2000
Genesis, 2002
Sanctus Diavolos, 2004
Theogonia, 2007
Aealo, 2010