torsdag 29. november 2012

The Escape Artist - The Escape Artist - 2012

Band: The Escape Artist
Album: The Escape Artist
Country: UK

Release date: November 26, 2012
Label: Self-release
Genre: Death/Metalcore, Progressive Death Metal, Progressive Metal
Existed since: 2009


Young metal act from Middlesbrough, england, shows promise on their debut finding their own sound. They r primary to find in the metal/deathcore genre, but got strong infuence from the general prog metal scene.
Im rly impressed w the clean vocal on Choo Choo (Illuminate), a strong second song. The harsh vocal suits the music very well. Also worth to mentioned the guitar works, rly good riffs n solo-parts.

Worth checking out.

Album musicians:
Matthew Sedgewick  - vocals, guitar
Kurtis Brudenell  - vocals, guitar
Daniel 'Worm' Tyreman  - bass
David Elliott - drums

  1. Intro
  2. Choo Choo (Illuminate)
  3. Exposure
  4. The Nipple Crippler
  5. Naughty Naughty
  6. There is a Tarantula on my Face
  7. Mr Whiskers Big Tantrum
  8. Cerberus

Listen to full album at Bandcamp or download it for free

Borknagar - Urd - 2012

Band: Borknagar
Album: Urd
Country: Norway

Release date: March 23, 2012
Label: Century Media
Genre: Melodic Black Metal
Existed since: 1995


Norwegian veterans released Urd this spring. I listened to their previous 2 albums, n i think both of those r mediocre, so when i first began listening to it, i didnt think it was any good n stopped listening it. But it did good on several top-lists, so i relistened n gave it more time, which i think was the right thing to do, because it is rly good.
The music is melodic black metal, sometimes leaning towards viking-metal. I rly like the vocals on this album, its varied, singing both clean n harsh, w some rly good choiring. In "The Beauty Of Dead Cities" i even get a "Syd Barrett"-feeling in some parts of that song.


Album musicians:
Andreas "Vintersorg" Hedlund - vocals
Lars Are "Lazare" Nedland - keyboard, vocals
Øystein Garnes Brun - guitar
Jens F. Ryland - guitar
Simen "ICS Vortex" Hestnæs - bass, vocals
David Kinkade - drums, percussion

  1. Epochalypse
  2. Roots
  3. The Beauty Of Dead Cities
  4. The Earthling
  5. The Plains Of Memories
  6. Mount Regency
  7. Frostrite
  8. The Winter Eclipse
  9. In A Deeper World
  10. Age Of Creation (bonus)
  11. My Friend Of Misery (metallica cover, bonus)

Previous records:
Borknagar, 1996
The Olden Remain, 1997
The Archaic Course, 1998
Quintessence, 2000
Empiricism, 2001
Epic, 2004
Origin, 2006
Universal, 2010