mandag 10. september 2012

Threshold - March Of Progress - 2012

Band: Threshold
Album: March Of Progress
Country: UK

Release date: August 24, 2012
Label: Nuclear Blast
Genre: Progressive metal, Progressive hard rock
Existed since: 1988


Its been 5 years since their last release, the excellent Dead Reckoning, 2007. U can hear they have used those years well to polish their new album. The songs r well thought out, great melodies, nice flow between the transitions in the melodies. A difference between the 2 albums would be where DR is faster n tighter, its more loosen up on this time. The production is good, musicianship is good, n Damian Wilsons vocal-lines holds a high standard.
Another album which comes to mind while listening to this, would be Shadow Gallerys Digital Ghosts, 2009.

Album musicians:
Karl Groom - guitars
Richard West - keyboards
Johanne James - drums
Steve Anderson - bass
Pete Morten - guitars
Damian Wilson - vocals

  1. Ashes
  2. Return Of The Thought Police
  3. Staring At The Sun
  4. Liberty, Complacency, Dependency
  5. Colophon
  6. The Hours
  7. That's Why We Come
  8. Don't Look Down
  9. Coda
  10. The Rubicon
  11. Divinity(bonus)

Soen - Cognitive - 2012

Band: Soen
Album: Cognitive
Country: Sweden

Release date: February 15, 2012
Label: Spinefarm Records
Genre: Progressive Metal
Existed since: 2010


Think this record is heavily influenced by Tool n Opeth. Vocalist Joel Ekelöf use occasionaly the same vocal techniques as Maynard n Åkerfeldt. Martin Lopez is also ex drummer for Opeth. Other parts of the music reminds me of the more experimental sides of Pain Of Salvation, maybe a bit folkish.
Super-bassist Steve DiGiorgio is also in the band, known from bands like Death, Testament n Sadus.

Album musicians:
Martin Lopez - drums
Kim Platbarzdis - guitar
Steve DiGiorgio - bass
Joel Ekelöf - vocals

  1. Fraktal (intro)
  2. Fraccions
  3. Delenda
  4. Last Light
  5. Oscillation
  6. Canvas
  7. Ideate
  8. Purpose
  9. Slithering
  10. Savia