fredag 7. september 2012

The Safety Fire - Grind The Oceans - 2012

Band: The Safety Fire
Album: Grind The Ocean
Country: UK

Release date: April 10, 2012
Label: Inside Out Music
Genre: Progressive Metal, Djent
Existed since: 2006


The debut by british The Safety Fire is a blend of djent n more proggy rock/metal. Where other djent/deathcore bands tends to separate the hard n softer parts in the music, SF manage to get it at the same time.
I think Sean McWeeneys have great clean vocal, while his growling isnt that good, but all in all it works well w the music. The guitar work on this album is also very well done.

Album musicians:
Sean McWeeney - vocals
Joaquin Ardiles - guitars
Derya Nagle - guitars
Lori Peri - bass
Calvin Smith - drums

  1. Huge Hammers
  2. Floods Of Colour
  3. DMP (FDP)
  4. Anomolous Materials
  5. Animal King
  6. Circassian Beauties
  7. Sections
  8. Seagraves
  9. Grind The Ocean

Previous records:
  • Sections, 2008

Gorod - A Perfect Absolution - 2012

Band: Gorod
Album: A Perfect Absolution
Country: France

Release date: March 12, 2012
Label: Listenable Records
Genre: Technical Death Metal
Existed since: 1997


Their last full-length just blew me away n topped my 2009 list. This time around its less orchestral n more brutal, but still great melodies. I like the interaction between the 2 guitar players, n the tapping is just beautiful. Julien Deyres doing a great job on the vocal, delivering brutal vocal-lines.
They invited 2 guest musicians to deliver on this record, Christian Muenzner from another techdeath favourite of mine, Obscura, n Michael Keene from The Faceless.
There r no weak moments on this record, just put in on n enjoy every turn of the ride.

Album musicians:
Mathieu "Mat" Pascal - guitars
Ben Barby - bass
Sam Santiago - drums
Nicolas Alberny - guitar
Julien "Nutz" Deyres - vocals

Guest musicians:
Christian Muenzner - guitar solo
Michael "Machine" Keene - guitar solo

  1. Birds Of Sulphur
  2. Sailing Into The Earth
  3. Elements And Spirit
  4. The Axe Of God
  5. 5000 At The Funeral
  6. Carved In The Wind
  7. Varangian Paradise
  8. Tribute Of Blood

Previous records
  • Neurotripsicks, 2004
  • Leading Visions, 2006
  • Process Of A New Decline, 2009
  • Transcendence(ep), 2011