onsdag 5. september 2012

The Korea - Chariots Of The Gods - 2012

Band: The Korea
Album: Chariots Of The Gods
Country: Russia

Release date: January 15, 2012
Label: Self-release
Genre: Deathcore, progressive metalcore, djent
Existed since: 2003

Official site

download album for free here

The intro of this album reminds about the beginning of an old Roadrunner band named Thorn. It got this ambient, arabic sound to it n echoing guitar.
Im not so familiar with russian bands, so listening to this album was a great surprise. They got a real punch in their music n there r no weak songs on this album. Good workmanship throughout. They sing in russian, but i really dont mind. The vocalist has a good growl n his clean voice is good aswell.

Album musicians:

Ilya Sannikov - vocals
Eugene Potekhin - guitar, vocal
Alexander Kuznetsov - guitar
Ruslan Latypov - bass
Sergey Kuznetsov - drums

  1. Cobra
  2. Waterline
  3. Manuscript
  4. Zombie
  5. Neva
  6. I've Got What You Waiting For
  7. Armada
  8. Valhalla
  9. Judas Kiss
  10. Chaos Theory
  11. On The Home Way

Previous records:
  • On The Broken Wings, 2006
  • The Pulse, 2007

Ne Obliviscaris - Portal Of I - 2012

Band: Ne Obliviscaris
Album: Portal Of I
Country: Australia

Release date: 7 May 2012
Label: Code666
Genre: Extreme Progressive Metal
Existed since: 2003


The debut from australian metallers Ne Obliviscaris is one of my favourite albums this year and will much likely be found on my top 3 at the end of the year. They have existed allmost 10 years, but have released only a 3-track demo back in 2007. All 3 songs from their demo is included on this album.
All but 1 tracks on the album are around 10 minutes long, but there are no dull moments here. The 2 vocalists compiles each other great, i think, n instead of just guitarsolos, there r violinsolos, which are splendid and adds a folk-feel to the music.
Luckily we dont have to wait long for next album, since they have announced a follow-up next year. If its as good as this, we will wait and see. An instant classic.

Album Musicians:
Tim Charles - violin, clean vocals
Marc "Xenoyr" Campbell - harsh vocals
Matt Klavins - guitars
Benjamin Baret - guitars
Brendan "Cygnus" Brown - bass
Daniel "Mortuary" Presland - drums

  1. Tapestry Of The Starless Abstract
  2. Xenoflux
  3. Of The Leper Butterflies
  4. Forget Not
  5. And Plague Flowers The Kaleidoscope
  6. As Icicles Fall
  7. Of Petrichor Weaves Black Noise

Previous Records:
  • The Aurora Veil (demo)